2016 Inductees

Our second annual Order of the Fleur de Lis Hall of Fame induction ceremony was held on Sept. 16, 2016. The 15 honorees set the bar high and will serve as aspirational examples for all who serve as men and women for others. Through their professional successes and significant contributions to the community, the following individuals have brought honor to both Saint Louis University and SLU LAW by demonstrating the University mission and Jesuit spirit. 

2016 Inductees:

  • The Honorable Henry Autrey ('77)
    Judge Autrey is currently a federal judge of the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Missouri. He received his B.S. and J.D. from Saint Louis University in 1974 and 1977. He was assistant circuit attorney for the City of St. Louis until 1986 when he became circuit court judge. In 2002, he was appointed to a seat on the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Missouri.
  • The Honorable Clyde S. Cahill ('51)*
    Judge Cahill was a federal judge of the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Missouri from 1980 until 2004. He served in the Air Force during World War II before receiving his B.S. and J.D. from Saint Louis University in 1949 and 1951. He was active in civil rights litigation throughout Missouri. He was a chief legal advisor to the Missouri NAACP and filed the first lawsuit in Missouri that implemented the Supreme Court’s decision in Brown v. Board of Education.
  • The Honorable Michael B. Calvin ('75)*
    Judge Michael Calvin graduated from Saint Louis University School of Law in 1975. In 1988, Calvin became a circuit judge, and in 1999 he was elected by his colleagues as presiding judge, becoming the first African-American in that position. In 2008, he retired from the bench, and went on to work as of counsel to Spencer Fane Britt & Browne, focusing on mediation and arbitration.
  • Dennis C. Donnelly ('66)
    Dennis C. Donnelly is currently senior counsel of Bryan Cave LLP specializing in employment law. He received both his A.B. and J.D. from Saint Louis University in 1963 and 1966. He was the assistant circuit attorney for the City of St. Louis until 1968, when he served as assistant U.S. Attorney for the Eastern District of Missouri and Eastern District of Illinois. He is currently on the advisory board for Ranken Technical College and for Boys Hope/Girls Hope.
  • Susan A. "Tonie" FitzGibbon ('84)
    Susan A. “Tonie” FitzGibbon has been a part of the SLU LAW faculty since 1987, becoming the director of the William C. Wefel Center for Employment Law in 1994. She earned her J.D. from SLU in 1984. A specialist in employment law, arbitration and mediation, Fitzgibbon taught contracts, labor law and alternative dispute resolution.
  • David J. Hensler ('67)
    David J. Hensler is a top-rated business litigation attorney in Washington, D.C. focusing on securities fraud litigation, internal investigations, and many other types of general commercial litigation. Hensler received his both his A.B. and J.D. from Saint Louis University. After law school, he joined the General Counsel’s Office of the Securities and Exchange Commission and was an adjunct professor at Georgetown Law. Hensler is currently a partner at Hogan Lovells LLP in Washington, D.C.
  • The Honorable Mary Kathryn Hoff ('78)
    Judge Hoff earned her J.D. from Saint Louis University School of Law in 1978. She began her legal career in 1978 as an assistant public defender in St. Louis. In 1982, she became a private practice lawyer until May of 1989, when she was appointed as a circuit judge in the 22nd Judicial Circuit. In 1996, Hoff was appointed to the Missouri Court of Appeals for the Eastern District.
  • F. William Human, Jr. ('50)*
    F. William Human received his undergraduate and law degree from Saint Louis University. He served in the Navy during WWII and the Korean War, and was elected Clayton’s first mayor in 1959. He was chairman of the St. Louis County Charter Commission, member of the committee that created the charter for the Zoo-Museum District, as well as a member of the general counsel that created the St. Louis Science Center.
  • Joseph L. Leritz ('52)
    Joseph L. Leritz is senior partner of Leritz & Plunkert, P.C., specializing in fire insurance, subrogation, insurance coverage litigation and commercial litigation. He graduated from SLU LAW in 1952. He has appeared in state and federal courts at all levels including the U.S. Supreme Court. A member of the Missouri Bar Association and the Bar Association of Metropolitan St. Louis, Leritz served as president of Member of the Association of Defense Counsel from 1969 to 1970.
  • Henry F. Luepke ('60)
    Henry F. Luepke Jr. received his A.B. from The University of Notre Dame in 1957 and his J.D. from Saint Louis University School of Law in 1960. He is currently Of Counsel of Lewis Rice LLC, a law firm in St. Louis, Mo. As a lawyer, attorney Luepke served Saint Louis City County, as well as clients throughout Missouri.
  • Marian V. "Bo" Mehan ('82)
    Marian V. “Bo” Mehan received J.D. from Saint Louis University School of Law in 1982. She works in estate planning at Lewis Rice LLC, a job in which she has had for over 30 years. She has held various leadership positions with several St. Louis nonprofit organizations, such as the Cardinal Glennon Children’s Hospital Foundation, Catholic Services for Children, the Girl Scout Council of Greater St. Louis, and the St. Louis Art Museum Foundation.
  • Robert F. Scoular ('68)
    As chairman of SNR Denton, Robert F. Scoular is currently a trial and appellate attorney specializing in complex litigation. He serves on the executive committee of the Board of Directors of Public Counsel and leads the firm’s Los Angeles pro bono efforts. He received his J.D. from SLU's School of Law in 1964, and currently serves on several boards for California nonprofits such as the Southern California Advisory Board of the Daughters of Charity Foundation.
  • The Honorable Joseph J. Simeone (Professor Emeritus)*
    Professor Emeritus Joseph J. Simeone was a longtime Saint Louis University School of Law professor and a former judge of both the Missouri Supreme Court and Court of Appeals. He served as legal counsel for two Missouri governors and the legal advisor for the Judiciary Committee of the Missouri House of Representatives. He is the principal author of the Judicial Article of the Missouri Constitution, the original Missouri Public Defender Act, the Controlled Substances Law, various environmental laws and other legislation.
  • John G. Simon ('86)
    John G. Simon received his undergraduate and law degree from Saint Louis University in 1983 and 1986. He founded Simon Law Firm, P.C., where he dedicates his career to helping injury victims. Simon is currently a member of the American Association for Justice, and has served on the Board of Governors of the Missouri Association of Trial Attorneys since 1991. He is also an adjunct professor at SLU's School of Law teaching trial advocacy.
  • Arlene Zarembka ('74)
    Arlene Zarembka earned her B.A. in economics from Swarthmore College in 1970 and her J.D. from Saint Louis University School of Law in 1974. After graduation, she spent six years as an attorney in Legal Services and six years in a private practice partnership before she opened her own law firm in 1987. Zarembka has advocated for civil liberties and civil rights for all persons throughout her practice, writing more than 90 published commentaries on civil rights, civil liberties, and social and economic justice.

*indicates deceased