Phi Delta Phi

Phi Delta Phi, The International Legal Honor Society, Est. 1869
-Promoting a Higher Standard of Professional Ethics-

Welcome to Murphy Inn, founded at Saint Louis University School of Law in 1949.

Phi Delta Phi International, established in the year 1869 to promote a higher standard of professional ethics, is among the oldest of legal organizations in North America. Phi Delta Phi was established only six months after the Columbus, Ohio Bar Association and nine years before the American Bar Association. It holds a unique position in the history of the North American bench, bar and the law schools. During the past three decades, Phi Delta Phi's reputation as an organization devoted to legal excellence has begun to spread into México and Europe.

Phi Delta Phi has one hundred and thirty-one active chapters -- called Inns -- in the Western Hemisphere and the number increases yearly. Phi Delta Phi has initiated in excess of 200,000 members.

The total initiated membership of Phi Delta Phi exceeds 200,000 persons. More judges, American presidents, governors, senators, representatives, cabinet members, ambassadors, American Bar Association presidents, Association of American Law School presidents and law school Deans have come from the ranks of Phi Delta Phi than from any other legal society.

Phi Delta Phi’s dedication to ethics, professionalism, community service and leadership is driven neither by religious nor political ideology, but by the will of its individuals to foster an appreciation for ethical behavior and to create a good impression of our oft-maligned profession.

Prominent members of Phi Delta Phi include:

  • Antonin Scalia
  • Benjamin N. Cardozo
  • William J. Brennan
  • William H. Rehnquist
  • Thurgood Marshall
  • Gerald R. Ford
  • Sandra Day O'Connor
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt
  • Teddy Roosevelt
  • Robert F. Kennedy
  • John Paul Stevens 
  • Adlai Stevenson

Membership is limited to students of good moral character who meet our standards of scholarship and service.  

For more information, visit and email or contact one of SLU Law’s Phi Delta Phi officers below: 

Every year Phi Delta Phi awards twelve $3,000 Balfour Scholarship Awards to law students thanks to a grant from the Lloyd G. Balfour Foundation. In addition there is a Balfour Minority Scholarship and an International Exchange Award.



Drew Spindler

Vice President

Tara Knowlton


Caroline Renner


Katie Finnegan

Contact Email

Faculty Advisor